I have a new ASUS. It works! Life is good!
The ASUS would like me to register it, which is the sort of thing new computers like to do. But. The sign-up page is so loaded with grammatical and typographical errors that I can't tell if I'm being directed to a malicious spam page or not. Does anybody out there know what the deal is?
Assuming the sign up page is at
https://vip.asus.com/member/join_member_01.aspx
it looks legitimate. It wouldn't surprise me if you're seeing some Chinglish mixed in with technobabble, but that's the internet.
Bear in mind, you don't HAVE to become a member of ASUS's little club to download documents and drivers and other software from the ASUS site -- in fact I did so just a few days ago when re-installing Vista on mymachine. ASUS is just trying to build up a mailing list. And if ASUS really has something vital that its users should downnload and install, the odds are good that Windows will provide that fix as a critical update.
Posted by: mike shupp | August 13, 2012 at 02:33 AM
Thanks!
Posted by: Miriam | August 13, 2012 at 08:29 AM